Musication – the fusion of my music and education.

UGFL & Needle Fac7ory : a collaboration.

I’ve known Needle Fac7ory for a number of years. First as someone to have a beer with and hang out with, then as a fan of his music and recently, I’ve had the privilege of collaborating with him on a track. Originally written as a piece for a university assignment, I asked him if he’d do vocals on the track. He obliged , I booked the studio session and we went in with the intention of recording the vocal in order that I could then mix and produce the track at a later date.

The session did not however go to plan.

The original version of the track was recorded at 130bpm but when I took it to a colleague of mine that was working with me on the assignment, it was slowed down to 120bpm with the intention of adding live guitars, drums and bass. N.F felt that this was too slow for the style of vocal he had in mind and preferred the original tempo. We’d had a few technical issues in the studio anyway and so decided that N.F would record the vocal at his house in order to get the best out of his voice.

I sent the stems over to N.F at 130bpm and a couple of weeks later, he showed me the finished result.   –

I couldn’t have been happier with the final version! N.F is an extremely talented producer and in my opinion should already be a million selling artist! I know I sound like an overly obsessed fan but I have so much respect for the guys’ knowledge and creativity, it’s not something that can be taught and I look forward to collaborating with him more in the future.

You can find Needle fac7ory here:

Official Needle Fac7ory Facebook
Official Needle Fac7ory
Official Needle Fac7ory Twitter

Leave a comment