Musication – the fusion of my music and education.

University as a mature student; a help or hinderance?

When I left school 12 years ago, I thought I had it all sussed. I was going to college then on to university and then in to the big wide world to work  in my chosen industry. I spent a year at Wigan and Leigh college and got my intermediate GNVQ Performing arts and re-took my GCSE music due to failing it in school. I then went on to MANCAT to study for a BTEC ND in Popular music and recording for 2 years and progressed to Salford university’s BA (Hons) Pop. Music and recording course. I stuck it out for 6 months and then decided that this was not the course for me. By this time, I was 20. I’d had enough of education and decided to get a job.

I began working in call centres. This is where it all ends. If you’ve ever worked in a call centre, you know how mind-numbingly boring and depressing the monotony can be. Not to mention, the lack of intelligence exhibited by the majority of the ‘oh-so-great’ British public when calling. I spent 6 years working in call centres as this was the only vocation that seemed to allow me to be myself. (In other words, didn’t require me to wear a suit and conform.- not that I’m against wearing a suit now mind you… If someone is willing to employ me and pay me a sensible salary above 15,000P/A I will happily wear a suit!!! )

After working in the ticketing industry, market research and even the education sector (booking driving theory tests),

I was offered the chance to get some experience as a stage hand. This was essentially, the hair that broke the camels back! I quit my job and decided that I would give it a try. I’d wanted so much for years, to be in that world of rock n roll. Here was my opportunity. So, I jumped at the chance.

After numerous late nights/early mornings on a freezing loading dock, heavy lifting and lack of sleep, we arrive here…

Given that I have real world experience of setting up live shows and the practical side of things, I felt it would be beneficial to return to university to get an official qualification in order to ensure that I can progress within the industry I want to spend my life working in. I enrolled myself on Salford’s BSc (Hons) Professional Sound and Video Technology course in 2010 and for the first year of my degree, things were easy. (Well, not easy, just easier!) I had enough money to pay bills, buy food and have some form of life….

Now though, in my second year, things have become increasingly difficult as circumstances have changed and my finances are in dire need of replenishment!  I’m thinking (more and more) about returning to full time employment as it is not the most sensible thing trying to live of a student loan and grants when you have had a life previous to returning to education in order to better ones self. I keep telling myself that it’s only for another 18 months and I know that if I persevere for a little longer, I can potentially end up being very successful and have my dream job.

Whereas the majority of people I have encountered at university seem to be there in the same capacity as I was almost a decade ago, I see university this time as my last chance. If I quit now, that’s it. GAME OVER. It may be a daily struggle to keep everything from collapsing around me and keep myself sane in order to succeed  but this adrenaline junkie thrives on ‘the crazy’.  Sure, I’ll have my daily moan, I’ll panic , I’ll get angry… but, as those who know me will tell you, if I say I’m going to do something… I usually end up doing it. Be it riding motorcycles, throwing myself out of planes, spending countless hours under a needle in order to become a colourful person, I end up doing the great majority of them.

So, do I see university as a help or hinderance being a mature student……???

Well, in terms of connections, the people I’ve encountered (especially in semester 2 of my second year) and the knowledge I’ve gained, it’s been a help. A MASSIVE help. Now, looking at it from the perspective of not being in full time employment,  it is a hinderance. Money or lack of a regular income is a MASSIVE inconvenience. In the long term, this is a very minor detail as hopefully, the gains will out weigh the losses but in the short term, everything feels like an up-hill struggle.

Thanks for reading.

– Are there any others out there that feel the same way?

7 responses

  1. yup! In the same boat – sometimes I wonder why I bothered starting a degree this late in life and then other times I hope it will all be worth it in the end. Hope you find your right path.

    March 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    • Thanks! I know where I want to be, it’s just lack of money for living expenses that’s causing me irritation! – The sooner I get my degree, the sooner I can afford to live again!!

      March 12, 2012 at 8:22 pm

  2. I’m at Salford doing my last year of Multimedia & Internet Technology. Yes its financially a f*ing pain, but as a mature student I realise that its only 3 years of a (average) 70 year life. Its makes it only 2.1% of your life. I have met people in the industry during my time as a student and they have told me to make sure I graduate. They said that their one biggest regret was quitting a degree because working life was more for them.

    The mature student factor makes you appreciate the degree more because you have had the real life experience. If anything, I think more people should finish college, get a job and work out what they want to do before going into university. Maybe then we will have classes of students who care about the degree.

    If all else fails, just imagine the fact that after you graduate, you have till you’re 67 to work.

    Good luck with your degree!

    March 13, 2012 at 9:38 am

  3. Mark Ledden

    I can only offer a view from the other side; I went straight from high school to sixth form and then on to University. The main reason for this was because I hadn’t decided what I wanted to do, so I just sailed through education because it meant I didn’t have to go out into the ‘real’ world and decide what to do with myself.

    I think if I we’re to go to University now, I’d probably get more out of it, being more mature (marginally!) I also think you have to appreciate, if you do start a degree later on in life, that you’re bound to be more focused on what you really want to do. I’d say take advantage of your wisdom compared to the rest of those kids! And certainly don’t give up 🙂

    March 13, 2012 at 9:46 am

  4. Hey,

    I’m currently studying at Salford as a mature student doing the PSVT top up course. I think it’s very beneficial studying as a mature student as you are much more focused on your work, you’ve had that real world experience. On our course there is a wide range of age groups, it’s quite noticeable that the older students are (for the most part) the most dedicated.
    I’ve had some similar work experiences to yourself, I’ve worked in call centre’s (One of the places I worked sent you an email if you were one minute late for work) and also been lucky enough to go out on the road with bands, work in radio etc. I also came back to get my degree as I’d started to do some music software teaching, and if it’s something you want to do full time then you obviously need a degree.
    Think you need to look at these things in the long term, yes it may be a struggle for the next 18 months but getting your degree will only enhance your career opportunities; if you left now what would you realistically do? Also, and without trying to sound harsh, your CV would now show that you left Uni twice mid-course (Quals are not everything of course but given the competitive nature of EVERY job sector I’m not sure this would hold you in good favour).
    There are plenty of examples of people scrapping and scrimping to get by, if you are truly passionate and believe in what you are doing then you will find a way.

    March 13, 2012 at 10:46 am

  5. Basher

    Mate hang in there, I am in a different boat than you I am a single dad with a 3 year old son I work four nights a week as a doorman of various clubs in the city to pay maintenance for my boy. Sunday is the only day I get with him, pick up noon and drop him off at school then go to uni, I promised myself my boy would not grow up in poverty like me and it keeps me going mate.

    I have no money and sleep deprived but my degree is my goal: better opportunity in the workplace and better standard of living for me and my kid, and its a bonus I can work in my chosen field.

    Is it really worth throwing it away when there is light at the end of the tunnel?

    March 14, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    • Thanks for the words of encouragement. Much appreciated.

      March 14, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Leave a comment